Cluttered up your Dropbox storage? Deleting files and folders is your best bet to clear it. Here’s how to delete both from Dropbox.


If you’re running out of space on your Dropbox or you just want to declutter your storage, you can delete unimportant files alongside any other clutter. Deleting items from your Dropbox is easy and can be done in a few simple steps.


The steps are similar on both desktop and the mobile app. Here’s how to go about it on whichever platform you’re on.

MAKEUSEOF VIDEO OF THE DAYSCROLL TO CONTINUE WITH CONTENT

How to Delete Items From Dropbox

Make sure you access Dropbox from the web on your desktop, rather than the app or client. These apps can have syncing problems that you need to resolve. Once you’re logged into your Dropbox account on your device, follow these steps to remove files or folders from your storage quota:

  1. Locate the file or folder you want to delete. You can use the Search bar to locate it even faster if you can remember the name.
    File being delete from Dropbox storage

  2. On the right-hand side of the file or folder you want to delete, click the horizontal three-dot icon—it should be vertical on the Dropbox mobile app.
  3. Click Delete from the dropdown options.
    Deleting multiple files from Dropbox storage

  4. If you want to delete multiple files at the same time, select the ones you want using the checkboxes on the left, and click Delete. On mobile, long-press one file or folder to start selecting multiple items for deletion.

Your deleted items will be stored in the Dropbox Deleted files folder, where you have the option of restoring them within 30 days, as long as you don’t delete your Dropbox account.

How to Restore Deleted Dropbox Files

In case you unintentionally deleted an item from your Dropbox storage, you can restore it easily by following these steps:

  1. On the left panel, scroll down and click Deleted files.
    Restoring deleted file from Dropbox recycle bin

  2. Highlight the items you want to restore and click Restore.
  3. In case you want to delete an item from the Deleted files folder forever, click Delete permanently.
  4. If a deleted item has been in the Deleted files folder for more than 30 days, you cannot restore it.

You can only restore deleted items from your desktop—the feature is unavailable on the Dropbox mobile app at the moment.

Declutter Your Dropbox Storage

Storage space will be limited if you’re on the free Dropbox plan. For this reason, it would be wise to every once in a while to check for any files you don’t need anymore and delete them. Deleting unnecessary files will not only save you space but also reduce clutter, leaving your Dropbox folders more organized.

If you find the free Dropbox plan to be limited in terms of space, you can always find other alternatives with better storage offerings.

#Delete #Files #Folders #Dropbox

Categorized in:

Tagged in:

, , ,